I212 Syllabus Posted

I’ve posted a tentative syllabus for I212, Information in Society: Critical Technology Studies: Science and Technology Studies and Reflective HCI.

UPDATE 11/12: that link is now live.

We’ll read some key work in STS and related areas (including distributed cognition and activity theory), and pair those readings with others where authors at least claim to be applying these theoretical approaches to problems related to design, information and information systems, and other areas of interest to students in the class (e.g., probably ICTD).

We’re fiddling with scheduling to try to make this course accessible to the people who want take it (rather than my just picking a time and crossing my fingers that people can show up), so if you’re interested, email me and let me know (vanhouse @ ischool).

Leave a Reply

